This is a pre-production deployment of Warehouse, however changes made here WILL affect the production instance of PyPI.
Latest Version Dependencies status unknown Test status unknown Test coverage unknown
Project Description
# Flame for Django Suit

Solves two problems:

- Warns users when two people are editing the same object.
- Autosaves the changes to firebase realtime and notifies the user if there are unsaved changes. If the user leaves the page for some reason, they can see their unsaved changes and apply them to the form.

## The main problem

When two users are editing the same django admin page at the same time, it is almost inevitable that one of the users will will override the other’s changes.
Flame is the simplest solution to prevent this problem.

## The solution

Use a pub-sub server to track active users and notify others when a change occurs.

### No need to set-up Tornado or similar pub-sub server.

Flame uses Firebase as the pub-sub provider. Firebase is quite reliable and the free tier already supports up to 50 connections which should be enough for an admin page.

# Setting-up

```
pip install django-suit-flame
```

add django-suit-flame *below* django-suit

```

```


add necessary firebase keys:

FLAME_AUTOSAVE = True
FLAME_FIREBASE_SUBDOMAIN = 'https://scorching-inferno-136.firebaseio.com'
FLAME_FIREBASE_SECRET_KEY = 'z22bA3KOg54gfwr9lmoWyi1sg8dL8uwOg8txRyfl2'


### Additional settings

If you want to stop the autosave functionality, change this setting
FLAME_AUTOSAVE = True

# Other Features
## Autosave!

Many people are using django as CMS or content editing purposes. The biggest nightmare for an editor is to accidentally close the browser and lose all the data he wrote.
The modern web apps (Gmail, Google docs, etc...) already support auto-save and many users complaint and suffer from this missing feature with sites built with django.

### How it works?
Flame syncs the contents of the change form regularly with Firebase. When the user saves the form, it deletes this data from firebase.
However if the user leaves the page without saving the form, the data stays at the page.
When the user re-enters to that page, he sees a notification box that says "You have unsaved changes"
The user can choose to apply the changes to the form or ignore (and delete) this content forever.


Made by Hipo
Release History

Release History

0.1

This version

History Node

TODO: Figure out how to actually get changelog content.

Changelog content for this version goes here.

Donec et mollis dolor. Praesent et diam eget libero egestas mattis sit amet vitae augue. Nam tincidunt congue enim, ut porta lorem lacinia consectetur. Donec ut libero sed arcu vehicula ultricies a non tortor. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit.

Show More

Supported By

WebFaction WebFaction Technical Writing Elastic Elastic Search Pingdom Pingdom Monitoring Dyn Dyn DNS HPE HPE Development Sentry Sentry Error Logging CloudAMQP CloudAMQP RabbitMQ Heroku Heroku PaaS Kabu Creative Kabu Creative UX & Design Fastly Fastly CDN DigiCert DigiCert EV Certificate Rackspace Rackspace Cloud Servers DreamHost DreamHost Log Hosting