Make deleted pages only temporarily deleted.
Instead of deleting pages when pressing delete, pages will get thrown into the "Trash Can".
First install the python package:
pip install wagtail-trash
Then add it to your
INSTALLED_APPS = [ # ... "wagtail.contrib.modeladmin", # Wagtail Trash makes use of ModelAdmin, it needs to be installed. "wagtail_trash", ]
Run migrations, et voila!
How it works
Wagtail Trash works by hooking into the Wagtail hook
before_delete_page and overriding the delete view.
Instead of deleting the page the page gets moved to the special "Trash" page. The deleted page and all descendants will get unpublished.
From the trash can in Wagtail admin it's then possible to permanently delete the page or to restore the page. Restoring a page will also republish the pages that were published when getting deleted.
If the parent of the deleted page is either in the trash can or permanently deleted it's still possible to restore the pages by supplying an alternate parent.
Since Wagtail Trash uses the hook
before_delete_page it might interfere with your applications
before_delete_page if you have defined one that returns a status code. Make sure wagtail trash is the last hook that runs otherwise or your custom
before_delete_page might not run since Wagtail Trash doesn't call it.
Also, Wagtail Trash "deletes" pages by unpublishing them, so if you use a queryset that doesn't filter out unpublished pages, pages in trash can might show up. There is a manager that will fix this for you included, example:
from wagtail.core.models import Page, PageManager from wagtail_trash.managers import TrashManager class SomePage(Page): objects = PageManager() # needed, so _default_manager isn't the trash manager objects_excluding_trash = TrashManager() # Now you can do this without getting any pages from the bin: SomePage.objects_excluding_trash.all()
Permissions: If you remove a page under a restricted area, this page will be moved and therefore get new permissions. A user might go from not being allowed to see pages under e.g. "Secret Page", but when a page under this area is moved to trash can, the permissions from "Secret Page" are gone so now the user will see it in the trash can. This is a solvable issue and will be fixed in a later version.
Clearing the bin regularly
There is an included managment-command called
empty_trash that takes a required argument
--older_than_days. To remove all items in the bin that's been there more than 30 days run this command:
./manage.py empty_trash --older_than_days=30
This project uses git flow, current release is in the
main branch and the current development is in the
wagtail trash is released under the MIT License.
Download the file for your platform. If you're not sure which to choose, learn more about installing packages.
Hashes for wagtail_trash-1.0.1-py3-none-any.whl