Skip to main content

A Python client library for the Dynata Demand API

Project description

python-demandapi-client

PyPI version

GitHub Actions status

A Python client library for the Dynata Demand API. There are also go and .NET clients available.

Setup

You can install the Demand API client with:

pip install dynatademand

You can provide your Demand API credentials in a couple of ways. They can be set in the environment (a sample config is provided in .env-example) or you can provide them while creating the client object.

Example Usage

# You can optionally provide your credentials here instead of environment variables.
demandapi = DemandAPIClient("client_id", "username", "password")
demandapi.authenticate()

# Any function requiring one or more IDs should be provided as positional arguments.
demandapi.get_project(7)

# Provide query parameters as keyword-arguments.
demandapi.get_projects(state="LAUNCHED")

# Functions that send data in a request body accept a python dictionary.
# Your data will be validated against the schemas provided in the Demand API documentation.
project_data = {
  'title': 'My New Survey',
  ...
}
demandapi.create_project(project_data)

Supported API Functions

Links to the Demand API documentation are included for each function.

Authentication Functions

Obtain Access Token: authenticate()
Refresh Access Token: refresh_access_token()
Logout: logout()

Event Functions

Get Event: get_event(event_id)
Get Events: get_events(**kwargs)

Project Functions

Buy Project: buy_project(project_id, buy_data)
Close Project: close_project(project_id)
Create Project: create_project(project_data)
Get Project: get_project(project_id)
Get Projects: get_projects(**kwargs)
Update Project: update_project(project_id, update_data)
Get Project Detailed Report: get_project_detailed_report(project_id)
Get Pricing & Feasibility: get_feasibility(project_id)
Get Invoice PDF: get_invoice(project_id)
Get Invoices Summary PDF: get_invoices_summary(**kwargs)

Line Item Functions

Add Line Item: add_line_item(project_id, lineitem_data)
Close Line Item: close_line_item(project_id, line_item_id)
Get Line Item: get_line_item(project_id, line_item_id)
Get Line Items: get_line_items(project_id, **kwargs)
Launch Line Item: launch_line_item(project_id, line_item_id)
Pause Line Item: pause_line_item(project_id, line_item_id)
Update Line Item: update_line_item(project_id, line_item_id, line_item_data)
Get Line Item Detailed Report: get_line_item_detailed_report(project_id, line_item_id) Launch Quota cell: set_quotacell_status(project_id, line_item_id, quota_cell_id, launch)
Pause Quota cell: set_quotacell_status(project_id, line_item_id, quota_cell_id, pause)

Misc Functions

Get Attributes: get_attributes(country_code, language_code, **kwargs)
Get Countries: get_countries(**kwargs)
Get Sources: get_sources()
Get Survey Topics: get_survey_topics(**kwargs)

Contributing

Information on contributing.

Testing

To run the tests, you will need to install the development requirements to your environment. It's recommended to create a virtual environment for your installation to avoid any package conflicts.

You can check out the code by running:

git clone https://github.com/dynata/python-demandapi-client.git
cd python-demandapi-client

And you can create an environment by running:

# If you're using Python 2.7
virtualenv venv

# Or if you're using Python 3:
python3 -m venv venv

source venv/bin/activate
pip install -r requirements.txt

While your virtual environment is activated, you can run pytest tests to run the tests.

Project details


Download files

Download the file for your platform. If you're not sure which to choose, learn more about installing packages.

Files for dynatademand, version 1.0.5
Filename, size File type Python version Upload date Hashes
Filename, size dynatademand-1.0.5-py2.py3-none-any.whl (30.9 kB) File type Wheel Python version py2.py3 Upload date Hashes View
Filename, size dynatademand-1.0.5.tar.gz (15.5 kB) File type Source Python version None Upload date Hashes View

Supported by

AWS AWS Cloud computing Datadog Datadog Monitoring DigiCert DigiCert EV certificate Facebook / Instagram Facebook / Instagram PSF Sponsor Fastly Fastly CDN Google Google Object Storage and Download Analytics Microsoft Microsoft PSF Sponsor Pingdom Pingdom Monitoring Salesforce Salesforce PSF Sponsor Sentry Sentry Error logging StatusPage StatusPage Status page